GelbviehXangus heifers good or bad? Hmmm

Help Support CattleToday:

ZMT

Reaction score
I am planning on purchasing some gelbvieh x angus heifers to to begin building my herd, I've done my research and I have some background in cattle and to me the cross seems to be the most economical from my standpoint i would of course like to wean a 600 lb calf using as little inputs for maintainence of a cow as possible as far as feed once these heifers get older, I am located in montana. I received some flack from my family about using gelbvieh but I am pretty confident, so I just wanted to hear some of your opinions of what you think good choice or what! Thanks so much!

That is an excellent choice. That is one of the better crosses in my opinion. I regularly post pictures of my Gelbvieh and Balancer cattle on here if you want to do a little searching. With proper management and decent forage you should have no trouble getting 600 lb weaning weights. I highly recommend that cross.......but of course I am a bit biased as well :mrgreen:

HOSS":ipke3gwc said:
That is an excellent choice. That is one of the better crosses in my opinion. I regularly post pictures of my Gelbvieh and Balancer cattle on here if you want to do a little searching. With proper management and decent forage you should have no trouble getting 600 lb weaning weights. I highly recommend that cross.......but of course I am a bit biased as well :mrgreen:
As soon as I saw the thread title, I knew you'd be here Hoss!!
Here's a link to one of Hoss' posts with pics:
viewtopic.php?f=5&t=83212&start=15

Haha finally someone agrees with me!! Thanks Hoss I appreciate the input, I think I will check some of your pics out. I'm excited to get started.

Some Gelbvieh /Angus crosses..they are called Balancers this should give you a better idea of what they can do. I think you are on the right track. You just need to find some good heifers and stick a calving ease Angus or Balancer bull on them!