Gelbvieh ?'s

Help Support CattleToday:

cfpinz

Reaction score
Hello,
I am new to this message board and would like to ask a few questions about gelbvieh cattle. I run an angus-based commercial herd with simm, char, herf, and pinz influence, along with a few others. Am currently using all angus bulls on these cattle, but thinking of getting a gelbvieh to put with a group to try and raise some replacement females. Was wondering what experiences others have had with gelbviehs and their opinions on disposition, performance, calving ease, etc. Was considering getting a red bull as I like red cattle, then breeding the heifers back to a black Angus to appease the markets around here. Any better genetics available in red/black animals?
Thank You

I like Gelbviehs a lot, but anything that a Gelbvieh will do for you a Simmenthal will do and you'll have a larger genetic base to select from.
The only real difficency I've seen in Gelbvieh is the marbeling. They'll raise a super calf and a half gelbvieh bred back to a high marbeling angus will take care of the problem.

dun

From my experience, you will get good females by doing this, they make very good cows, but I am not sure if they will be any better than the angus base you already have, since they are already crossed with several different breeds. You need to look down the road and see how uniform your cattle will be when you sell. The more uniform ussually the better price you will get. By adding one more breed to the mix they may not be as uniform as the buyers would like.