• If you are having problems logging in please use the Contact Us in the lower right hand corner of the forum page for assistance.

fence tips and tricks

Help Support CattleToday:

M.Magis

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 28, 2010
Messages
1,935
Reaction score
16
Location
Cambridge, Ohio
Looks very nice to me. May I ask, what do you use to run the fence out? I assume in those tight quarters you have to do it by hand?
I just finished up a small run of 6 strand just like that, and experimented with a contraption to run 3 strands at once. It didn’t go as smooth as I’d hoped, though still faster than one at a time. In more open areas, are you able to run multiple strands at once without them becoming a tangled mess?
 

skyhightree1

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
19,770
Reaction score
0
Location
Free Rent ,VA
M.Magis":1sa0pk4f said:
Looks very nice to me. May I ask, what do you use to run the fence out? I assume in those tight quarters you have to do it by hand?
I just finished up a small run of 6 strand just like that, and experimented with a contraption to run 3 strands at once. It didn’t go as smooth as I’d hoped, though still faster than one at a time. In more open areas, are you able to run multiple strands at once without them becoming a tangled mess?

My question is do you start bottom up or top down when running fence wire?
 
OP
F

fenceman

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 23, 2015
Messages
1,771
Reaction score
0
Location
Florence tx
fenceman":21v0xh1r said:
Every one here has a fence. I post tips from time to time. Some thank me some criticize. Either way is fine. From now on they will all be here. Hopefully others will join in
Tight spot 2: http://youtu.be/071w9Ypaxx0
Tight spot 2: video 1

Fenceman tight spot: http://youtu.be/74IJks7VOTgView from corner.



All done



Ok getting that straightened out was harder than building the fence. Video should work.
 

M.Magis

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 28, 2010
Messages
1,935
Reaction score
16
Location
Cambridge, Ohio
skyhightree1":1fcal8vi said:
My question is do you start bottom up or top down when running fence wire?
I’ve done both, and I can’t say with any certainty I notice much difference. If there’s any play in the corner posts, starting at the top will keep the fence from getting loser with each strand you add. It also helps minimize tangles with barbed wire. But I’ve not built nearly as much fence as Fenceman.
 
OP
F

fenceman

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 23, 2015
Messages
1,771
Reaction score
0
Location
Florence tx
I always pull a wire on the ground for a straight line to lay out fence. After post are In I move it top and tie all post. Then raised or lower post were needed for a nice fluid line. Then work down. Measuring of the top wire

M-5":3djod84s said:
thanks , Nice accent , sounds like your from Missouri
That's going hurt all day
 

skyhightree1

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
19,770
Reaction score
0
Location
Free Rent ,VA
M.Magis":3g3em5ae said:
skyhightree1":3g3em5ae said:
My question is do you start bottom up or top down when running fence wire?
I’ve done both, and I can’t say with any certainty I notice much difference. If there’s any play in the corner posts, starting at the top will keep the fence from getting loser with each strand you add. It also helps minimize tangles with barbed wire. But I’ve not built nearly as much fence as Fenceman.

Bottom is roughest on me so I do that first.
 

bball

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 25, 2015
Messages
3,483
Reaction score
1
Location
Indiana
How long did it take to clear that stretch by hand before you start running wire?
 
OP
F

fenceman

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 23, 2015
Messages
1,771
Reaction score
0
Location
Florence tx
bball":6bh8v3gu said:
How long did it take to clear that stretch by hand before you start running wire?

I put the braces just under a roll of barbwire, a 1/4 mile. We cleared that stretch and about 1/2 the next in 8 hour day.
 

bball

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 25, 2015
Messages
3,483
Reaction score
1
Location
Indiana
fenceman":2m6ylcz0 said:
bball":2m6ylcz0 said:
How long did it take to clear that stretch by hand before you start running wire?

I put the braces just under a roll of barbwire, a 1/4 mile. We cleared that stretch and about 1/2 the next in 8 hour day.

That's pretty dam good...chainsaws and trimmers w/ metal blades?
 

gimpyrancher

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
819
Reaction score
0
Location
Southern Oregon
This makes me think I'm doing it all wrong. :( I'm clearing trees on "my side" with a tractor leaving approx 10-12 feet wide new road around my perimeter. Now I will go back and establish my corners and stretch one smooth wire to get straight lines. Then I'll go back and put in H's and T-posts. Then I'll start stacking my wire lines.

But I'm guessing you're not as large as I am or as old. So such a small trail probably isn't a big deal to you. Smile. After looking at your post, my property line is starting to look like a highway.

PS: Very nice work.
 

skyhightree1

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
19,770
Reaction score
0
Location
Free Rent ,VA
FM what is the I guess you would say proper height for a barb wire fence to hold cattle ? What height should each strand be? How many strands? We all do fences differently but id like to hear what a TRUE expert has to say.
 
OP
F

fenceman

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 23, 2015
Messages
1,771
Reaction score
0
Location
Florence tx
?
skyhightree1":1vggu3im said:
FM what is the I guess you would say proper height for a barb wire fence to hold cattle ? What height should each strand be? How many strands? We all do fences differently but id like to hear what a TRUE expert has to say.

Well thanks for the expert title sky. That's a real broad question and there is lots of variables. But here you go. I won't build a perimeter fence fence less than 5 wires for a customer. For the most part I build a 6 wire, 54 inches high with a wire spacing of 9 inches. Tall enough the bull cant easily get his brisket up on in and mash it down. Wires close enough old Bessie can't comfortably graze through it. We build plenty of 7 and 8 wire. Mostly out along the interstate. We build a fair amount of 10 wire. I personally have about 4 miles of 10 wire. I also have a oat field fenced of with 3 wire. Works llike a creep feeder.
But if you want to nail me down I'll say 5 wires 54 inches high spaced at 11 inches. Then I would say break out another 4 cents a foot and make here 6 wires.

There is alot said about the image we as cattleman present. The manner we handle and care for our cattle is how the non ranching. Farming public sees our industry. Remember the first look someone gets of your outfit, is through your fence
 

skyhightree1

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
19,770
Reaction score
0
Location
Free Rent ,VA
fenceman":1e00nmyp said:
?
skyhightree1":1e00nmyp said:
FM what is the I guess you would say proper height for a barb wire fence to hold cattle ? What height should each strand be? How many strands? We all do fences differently but id like to hear what a TRUE expert has to say.

Well thanks for the expert title sky. That's a real broad question and there is lots of variables. But here you go. I won't build a perimeter fence fence less than 5 wires for a customer. For the most part I build a 6 wire, 54 inches high with a wire spacing of 9 inches. Tall enough the bull cant easily get his brisket up on in and mash it down. Wires close enough old Bessie can't comfortably graze through it. We build plenty of 7 and 8 wire. Mostly out along the interstate. We build a fair amount of 10 wire. I personally have about 4 miles of 10 wire. I also have a oat field fenced of with 3 wire. Works llike a creep feeder.
But if you want to nail me down I'll say 5 wires 54 inches high spaced at 11 inches. Then I would say break out another 4 cents a foot and make here 6 wires.

There is alot said about the image we as cattleman present. The manner we handle and care for our cattle is how the non ranching. Farming public sees our industry. Remember the first look someone gets of your outfit, is through your fence

Thank you for the imput it makes perfect sense. :clap:
 

lavacarancher

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 6, 2009
Messages
1,960
Reaction score
0
Location
Lavaca county, Texas
gimpyrancher":3gclcpdl said:
This makes me think I'm doing it all wrong. :( I'm clearing trees on "my side" with a tractor leaving approx 10-12 feet wide new road around my perimeter. Now I will go back and establish my corners and stretch one smooth wire to get straight lines. Then I'll go back and put in H's and T-posts. Then I'll start stacking my wire lines.

But I'm guessing you're not as large as I am or as old. So such a small trail probably isn't a big deal to you. Smile. After looking at your post, my property line is starting to look like a highway.

PS: Very nice work.

This is the way I run my new fences. Didn't know there was any other way. ;-)
 

Latest posts

Top