Feeding Calves

Help Support CattleToday:

cotton1

Reaction score
I am looking for info on feeding weanling calves alfalfa hay. I have a small registered herd, and have a set of bull calves I am going to wean in a few days. I typically feed a ground grain type feed that I make. This year however, I have a new patch of alfalfa(my first time growing alfalfa), and now have some nice hay. I do not have the analysis, but am quessing the hay would be 10-15%? The feed I make is normally around 14% based on average values for corn, oats, cotton seed etc. So I know without the analysis on the hay it is a quess, but my question can be simplified. If I feed a pound of 15% alfalfa hay, is that as good as a pound of 15% ground feed? I typically feed a.m./p.m. and was hoping to replace the p.m. feeding with the hay. I have no experience with alfalfa because it is so expensive to buy, and typically have fescue and coastal bermuda grass hay and some oat hay. The hay that I put out is free choice in addition to any grain,but I am thinking to use the alfalfa in a ration? I need to put 2-3lbs/day on these guys and dont want to loose a bunch of time experimenting. Any help appreciated

cotton1":2nxttwce said:
I am looking for info on feeding weanling calves alfalfa hay. If I feed a pound of 15% alfalfa hay, is that as good as a pound of 15% ground feed?
Only on paper.
Ground feed will develop the rumen much faster than hay. Starting with a Hay only diet will give them pot bellies. Start with ground feed and then gradually add hay to 'wean' them from ground feed to alfalfa hay.