Farming for a living?

Help Support CattleToday:

SFFarms

Reaction score
Im 19 years is old in college majoring in something else besides agriculture and im wondering could i make a living farming? I have been around farming and cattle my whole life, im not just one of these kids that get a fad and think i want to do something new. I really love agricultural and working with cattle, and wondering could this be my calling. I live on a small farm and raise about 30 Angus and santa gertudis beef cows on 30 acres . I know if i wanna do this for a living i would need more land and cattle. I know the basics of rasing cattle and got a pretty good start. I have recently got the angus gentic and epd bug and have pretty good cattle. But i was told by another older farmer this gentic stuff wont last and the way the economy is going beef cattle is all that will survive.

So here are some of my questions.

Can i make a living farming? If so how many acres and cattle do i need to make profit and live my life?

Is there special grants or loans i could receive?

Do i stick with gentics or go with beef cattle?

Any help would be great and other things that i didnt mention that anyone could help me with. :tiphat:

It depends on what kind of "Living" you would be happy with..... I am 23 and kinda gone down the same path...... only advice I can give you is finish school and try to get some type of degree no matter what field it's in...... cattle are made every day as you know and you have plenty of time to build on what u have. You may not ever even use your degree but it is nice to have the peice of paper!!! Right now I've got 40 head brangus cows ( Cow calf operation).... I use the money from the calf crop each year to pay on my 100 acres of land..... u can get a loan structured to make one annual payment like this if u like... But i maintain my day job until My land is paid for then I plan on putting more energy into the farm!!