ET for newbies

Help Support CattleToday:

JoyfulJerseys

Reaction score
Hi all

I'm considering embryo transfer for my prize heifer, which I bought this past April. "Leah" is a pregnant Jersey due to calve in August at the age of 23 months. I've never had an ET done before though, so I have a lot of questions for the experienced breeders...
1. When would be the best age to flush Leah? I've been considering doing her after she calves, in her first lactation, but would this be too young with too little info on her reproductive history? Or too soon after her adjustment to the new area? August is also a bit of a tough time in our country - late winter, early spring.
2. Can you use sexed semen for an ET or is the fertility too low?
3. Is ET normally cost effective? Of course I have to do lots of research on prices and crunch some numbers, but I'm wondering what others' experiences are.
4. What is the ideal recipient cow?
5. Is ET cruel or painful to the donor or recipients?

Thanks guys!!

Have an awesome day

Your first question should be WHY should you flush her? Is it just because you really like her or does she truly have superior genetics? Your second question needs to be WHAT will you do with the embryos? Sell them, or use them yourself?