ENDOPHYTE

Help Support CattleToday:

HDRider

Reaction score
Is anyone having good luck with MaxQ fescue?

I am new to cattle. :cboy: Should I really worry about toxic endophyte fescue or can I just stick with Kentucky 31??

If not MaxQ what kind of endophyte free fescue do you like, and why???

AND, just to muddy the waters, what about Texoma MaxQ II ????

Thanks all.

If you already have it growing stick with KY31 and dilute it with clover, red or white. Throwing some lespedeza in for later in the summer woudln;t hurt a bit either.

i am kind of with Dun....
also, select the cattle from your herd that can tolerate it and cull those that cannot.
manage the plant....most difficult time is when it is making seed heads.

pdfangus":ixzugkty said:
also, ]select the cattle from your herd that can tolerate it and cull those that cannot.
Excellent point. Our cows are fat as ticks and raise good calves on some really hot fescue, but we've selected for that for years.

My pastures are all MaxQ and Persist orchardgrass. Good stuff, but I would never, ever make the mistake I made while chasing those 'government dollars' and kill off my KY-31 fescue again. Far better to just keep a good mix of red, white/ladino clovers and lespedeza mixed in there to 'dilute' the effects of the endophyte and select for cattle that work on high-endophyte fescue.
But, since I'd followed the NRCS recommendations (they're NOT about farmers - they're all about wildlife) while chasing those EQUIP $$$ - and the orchardgrass/timothy/red clover mix they recommended petered out after 2-3 years, I had to reseed with something that would last on my own dime.
Reseeding pasture behind row crops or following a mistake that resulted in total loss of forage sward is the only reason I can think of to go to the expense of planting MaxQ - unless you're gonna be grazing pregnant mares.

pdfangus":2loqdof9 said:
also, select the cattle from your herd that can tolerate it and cull those that cannot.