does this look like cancer eye?

Help Support CattleToday:

scf84

Reaction score
S6302419_zpszbs1ry14.jpg

S6302421_zpslwhb7gwl.jpg

I have no experience with cancer eye, but, as a result of the horn shape, I am quite curious about this particular animal.

How old and what is the reproductive history?

The only cancer eye I've seen (not many) had an actual growth looking thing coming from the eye. I don;t see it in the pictures, to me it looks like just an eye irritation of some sort.

i was thinking it might have just poked it with a stick or got something in it. we had some logging done and tops in the edge of the woods and for some reason they like walking thru them.

I can't tell if any swelling is present but I could be pink eye or an eye injury.

Questions

Any swelling present

How long has it been running.

Any small growth around the eyelid

WalnutCrest":1xs8um6p said:
I have no experience with cancer eye, but, as a result of the horn shape, I am quite curious about this particular animal.

im guessing she is between 8-10yrs old. her mom was a herford mix and dad was a beefmaster mix. she has always given me good calves and have had no problems out of her. best i can remember her horns have always been shaped like that.

1982vett":9wsbwsn9 said:
I can't tell if any swelling is present but I could be pink eye or an eye injury.

Questions

Any swelling present

How long has it been running.

Any small growth around the eyelid
i cant tell that there is any swelling or growths just yellowish matter or puss running down its face from her eye. the eyeball still looks normal as well. its been doing it for about a week now.

Kinda looks like pinkeye, my herefords sometimes get yellowish waxy stuff near eyes and ears. Could be that running down with tearing.

Is she blinking a lot?

With cancer eye I think you should see a growth or wart like thing.