Does distillers slop hurt cows teeth?

Help Support CattleToday:

Lucasbranham

Reaction score
I've been feeding distillers thin slop to my cows/calves for about 6 months or so. I haven't seen any problems. But I was told by someone today that it will quickly rot their teeth. Anyone ever seen a confirmed case of this happening?

I've been wondering since I saw your post, I googled it and found nothing. I can see how it would, and then on the other hand I can see how it wouldn't. In a free choice situation, if they just kept going back and forth, then it might.

I do not believe it would. I have never fed the thin sloppy kind. I have seen it fed on YT and can not see how it could damage teeth. They seem to just slurp it down.

I couldnt find any info on it either. I Am only feeding as a supplement to pasture and hay. I would think that if they are only eating/drinking it for 30 minutes per day and the rest of the time eating roughage and drinking clean water that their teeth would stay pretty clean. I guess we will see.

If you don't know, might as well ask. I can get wet distillers grain. Is the slop the moisture that is drained from it? The wet is about $50 a ton. The dry always seemed like a better buy. I know somebody will ask, the stabilized wet is about $80. The dry is all I've ever fooled with.

BF,
We fed the modified distiller's for several years, but my boss (wife) put the pencil to it, and determined that the dry stuff was a better buy... and we don't have to lug as many buckets of it on a daily basis to get 'em fed... and the ones we do lug are lighter.

Bigfoot":2a1cn9uw said:
If you don't know, might as well ask. I can get wet distillers grain. Is the slop the moisture that is drained from it? The wet is about $50 a ton. The dry always seemed like a better buy. I know somebody will ask, the stabilized wet is about $80. The dry is all I've ever fooled with.