Despicable and inhumane treatment of sick calves....

Help Support CattleToday:

bevkel

Reaction score
Forgive me - I am a relative newbie. I've only been to a sale once before today. I also understand economic pressures, blah, blah, blah....

I took two calves to the sale barn located in Covington Ok. It's a small sale, located northish of Oklahoma City by about 70 miles. Lots of good old boys. Small number of cattle in the pens today. A veterinarian was on duty (at least I saw a vet pickup on the premises and paid a small vet fee).

Someone had brought in a number of calves (steers for the most part) for sale- I don't know how many, maybe 20 - 30. There were probably 10 that had pinkeye to some degree. This was noted by the auctioneer and assistants. For the most part the infection was notable, but not severe.

Then they brought in a smaller calf, between 250 - 350 pounds. He was completely blinded by the pinkeye. They had to poke and prod him out and around the scales. They had to guide this poor creature, who besides being blind was unused to human handling. The swelling of his eyes was abysmal. Yes, I know - with proper treatment the pinkeye can be cured and the calf will do okay.

I am so freaking angry that anyone would allow this condition to progress to this extent. It is unconscionable. I am angry at the owner, I am angry at the sale barn, and extremely angry at the vet.

Yes, these are just beef cattle, but this sort of inhumane treatment sickens me. Surely this is against the law. As far as I am concerned, the seller of these calves should be horse-whipped. Shy of that, is there a state agency I could contact?

bevkel":3631h6gp said:
Forgive me - I am a relative newbie. I've only been to a sale once before today. I also understand economic pressures, blah, blah, blah....