Coyote and me

Help Support CattleToday:

tncattle

Reaction score
Walking back from the woods (jungle) today where the tractor is stuck from trying to cut some paths out to feed my runaway steers. I was walking on this soft mud path quietly and walked up on a large coyote about 20 feet away. I saw him first and when he saw me he turned quickly and stared at me for a couple seconds and then ran away really fast. But I was mad at myself for not having my 40 cal. handgun, I did have a big Husqvarna chainsaw that I was using to cut two big fallen trees that the tractor is stuck on so I guess that would have scared him pretty well if I had started it. I'm not a coyote expert but that sucker looked to be 50-60 lbs.--isn't that kind of big for a coyote? I think I'll be carrying from now on. I don't have a holster--what is something I could carry the 40 cal. in that would not be to big or a nuisance?

I understand how you felt. This spring my son's dogs were holed up in a sinkhole and he ran back to my office to get a loaded 22 Marlin that we keep behind the desk, went back to the sinkhole and as he was shooting the coyote it came towards him when he ran out of ammo (it was down to 4 shots). It dropped about 6' in front of him and it weighed 28 lbs. but he said it was 50-60 before we weighted it.