Cooking a Roast

Help Support CattleToday:

Reaction score
My family just bought a side of beef from Mid Dakota Meats via Jorgensen Farms that included some roasts. I've heard that since they are particularly lean that they tend to be tough. I read that I should cook it on a rack in the oven for only about an hour or so (it's a 3.3lb. roast.) Can anyone help confirm that or offer any other tips? Thanks!

First off :welcome: , happy to have you here and asking about cooking. While I'm no expert, I have had many farm raised beef roasts and I always like cooking them "low and slow". Most of the time I put it in a crock pot on low for 6 to 8 hours. I'll add potates, carrots, onion and anything else in the pot and enjoy with bread. For me low and slow makes a very tender roast. I'm looking forward to other responses.

:welcome:
Alan

Thanks Alan! I was thinking the same thing, although I don't have a crock pot so I was going to put it in the oven in a dutch oven.

Since I'm not the one who ordered the side of beef and Mid Dakota Meats doesn't label them so I don't have a clue what cut it is at all!

(Thanks for the welcome by the way, glad to be here.)

I hope Jogeephus reads this! I'm looking forward to his suggestion. I do my roasts in the crockpot also, but would like another version. Once recipe I use because the kids love it, and gives it a bit of sweetness: Place 1 (1oz) envelope dry onion soup mix on bottom of crockpot. Place 3 lb roast on top of it. Top with 1 (16 oz) can jellied cranberry sauce. Cover and cook on slow 8 hours or less until done. I know it sounds crazy but it works.

That sounds pretty good actually, and I have all of the ingredients. I think it could work in the Dutch Oven...just wonder on what temp and for how long to cook?

Becky Nebraska":2zh8w8hh said:
That sounds pretty good actually, and I have all of the ingredients. I think it could work in the Dutch Oven...just wonder on what temp and for how long to cook?