Cheap cattle shelter (High schooler budget)

Help Support CattleToday:

mandelke86

Reaction score
So im a sophomore in high school and I've had one cow in my life. I work on a farm which has sheep and had 4 cows that I raised. So im not really new to cattle. When I did have a cow the farmer I worked for told me to keep it at the neighbor farmers house. However, things got heated once this guys Alzheimers got bad so I sold the cow and left. 4 months later after the slaughter of the 4 cows and the selling of my cow I find my self missing cows and wanting them again. My parents said they will buy a cow if I save up money for fencing and a shed. Right now I have only 200 from my ffa chapter. I know I need more money to start up but I was just wondering if anyone had cheap cattle shelter ideas for 2-3 cows. Thanks for the help! :D

Usually I run from these type of questions but you are young and a bit of advice here will get you on the right track - cheap and easy to build - but you need to do the sweating - not your folks.

Go into the bush with a chainsaw. Cut down some poles for corners, posts and rafters.

Look for used tin to do the roof

Buy some cheap used lumber to sheet the walls.

Don't have a bush? Go to the nearest landfill, dump or whatever you call them where you live.

If you have a dump somewhere near you this material can likely all be had for the hauling and a few dollars.

Remember!! Don't ask - don't get!

Buy 25 pounds of 2 and 3 and 4 inch nails.

Put it all together as a south facing three sided shelter and you are done.

I did this and the total cost came out to about 90 or 100 bucks.

Been using it for about 12 years now.

I have two of them that I built this way and one nice one with store bought everything. Anyone with a brain can see that this shows when I did and did not have money!

Built it with a chainsaw and a hammer and a measuring tape - nothing more.