Rolling high tensile

Help Support CattleToday:

OP
S

SmokinM

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 27, 2013
Messages
1,331
Reaction score
657
Location
Virginia
Is your HT hot?
If so, what is the voltage?
The problem is with the way it is run getting it hot and keeping it hot is a full time job. It’s just not worth it. HT has to have electricity to be a fence of any account and even super hot it is no where near the fence net wire is hot or not IMO. The amount of time I spend trying to keep it going I can put the net up and be done. You can build it cheap and fast but HT costs you in aggravation and time later.

HT fixed knot is what I am replacing it with.
 

chevytaHOE5674

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 11, 2012
Messages
852
Reaction score
59
Location
Western UP, Mi
All I use is HT anymore. 6 feet of snow can push it all to the ground and when it melts off it springs back into place. I've tried all different kinds of woven and have never seen one rebound after spending 5 months smashed flat to the ground.

During the growing season when the animals have good grass i usually turn the juice off as the 5 strands of HT keep the cows where they need to be.
 

callmefence

Hobby rancher
Joined
Mar 7, 2016
Messages
7,664
Reaction score
1,367
Location
Fencemans place...central Texas
Here's a picture of a repair I recently did on a netwire fence we built about five years ago. Just cut the tree off and replaced a couple of bent post wire stood right back up. I did cut and splice out the bent part but overall the fence was still tighter than most.
I've got another repair on the schedule right now. Customer called and said a car went through his new fence. Took out two tpost and a pipe post. He said the net is still standing , tight as new. I'll take some pictures when I get over there. KIMG0444.JPGKIMG0445.JPG
 

chaded

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 17, 2018
Messages
234
Reaction score
97
Location
Southeast Ohio
Here's a picture of a repair I recently did on a netwire fence we built about five years ago. Just cut the tree off and replaced a couple of bent post wire stood right back up. I did cut and splice out the bent part but overall the fence was still tighter than most.
I've got another repair on the schedule right now. Customer called and said a car went through his new fence. Took out two tpost and a pipe post. He said the net is still standing , tight as new. I'll take some pictures when I get over there. View attachment 4259View attachment 4260

Fence, how did you do your splice and tightening on that repair?

We are in the process of fencing the rest of our place in with HT fixed knot and while we are removing as many trees in the way as we can there are some areas we wont be able to. Probably going to end up with this repair someday. Lol.
 

callmefence

Hobby rancher
Joined
Mar 7, 2016
Messages
7,664
Reaction score
1,367
Location
Fencemans place...central Texas
Fence, how did you do your splice and tightening on that repair?

We are in the process of fencing the rest of our place in with HT fixed knot and while we are removing as many trees in the way as we can there are some areas we wont be able to. Probably going to end up with this repair someday. Lol.
Used to use crimps and still do some. Usually use gripples nowadays. If the fence was tight you have to add a piece requiring two splices. The gripples make so much easier to tension the wire.
The only drawback to the gripples is when you're right up by the house or the front entrance two rows of gripples really stands out and I've had some people not like that. That's when I use a golden rod and crimps.
 

RDFF

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 3, 2019
Messages
305
Reaction score
346
Location
SE Minnesota
I was using this today to wind up some old single strand and other junk. Pretty handy unit I borrowed from a great neighbour.

Be sure to give him a few bucks for letting you use HIS investment... that'll help keep him being an appreciated really great neighbor.
 

gcreekrch

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
1,839
Reaction score
774
I have this rig. Works very well. Rolling high tensile requires tying something like a heavy strap hinge or similar to it.
1620351780328.png1620351780328.png
 

Allenw

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 12, 2017
Messages
569
Reaction score
83
Location
NW OK
I was using this today to wind up some old single strand and other junk. Pretty handy unit I borrowed from a great neighbour.

After using a hydraulic winder with a manual guide arm that little roller guide traveling back and forth would be great.
 

Latest posts

Top