CharX bred to ?

Help Support CattleToday:

MoGal

Reaction score
Hi All,

Have a ? for all you knowledgeable people.
I am just starting out again (raised bottle calves about 25 years ago) with charolais cross cows.

I need advice on what to breed to in order to get replacement heifers... I have access to Brangus, Red Limo, Angus and Charolais bulls.
I'm leaning towards the Brangus.... what do you all think and what would you recommend?

Thank you for your replies.

For this area MoGal, I would go with the Angus bull. Maybe you can get in with the other breeders in the area that are sending out to feelots for those that you do not keep.
Good luck in your endeavor!

brangus will definately give you better & more profitable heifers, you should also have calves that are more vigorous than the others. one old guy claims they will be on a teat before their hind feet hit the ground. they will also stand the mo. heat & fescue better. more disease resistance & less pinkeye & exceptional growth rate crossed with the char

Are these replacements you're wanting to generate for your operation or to market to others? The first thing you need to determine is what you're going to market and how you plan to market them. If the replacements are to sell, what types of replacements are in demand in your area? If for your own operation, how will you market the offsrping? If you're going the sale barn route, check your local auctions and see what is in demand. If you are going to market through some sort of alliance, see what specifications/types they require.
We're in SC MO and Brahman influence cattle are docked at the sale barns and aren't really required for the usual summers.
What is your frage base? Typically it's high endophyte fescue and that doesn;t point to any specific breed or cross, it's individual animals that are tolerant to it or not.