Buying a roping horse

Help Support CattleToday:

Copemeister

Reaction score
Hey all, recently joined the rodeo team here at college and I've been trying my hand at roping. Thing is... I need myself a horse. A good friend here at school recently bought a new horse for roping purposes and offered to sell me his 10 year old painted horse. He responds well, has a good temper, stands 15.2 hands tall, and is real athletic. The real issue is I have no time nor the knowledge to train a new horse as I'll be stationed elsewhere in a year now. He's asking between around 4 thousand which seems a bit steep from what I've gathered. If anyone has any information (or a horse they think that'd be suitable in the Colorado area) your input would be appreciated. Thanks again.

Copemeister":2mmv4389 said:
The real issue is I have no time nor the knowledge to train a new horse as I'll be stationed elsewhere in a year now.

Well it seems that you talked yourself out of buying the horse. Your reason is valid. However expect to spend way more than $4K for a finished horse. If you want a good horse that knows it's job, add another figure to the price.

Another thought is sending the horse to a qualified trainer to finish it and teach you how to rope.

If he is a trained roping horse, he may be worth every penny. I have far more than that invested in my cow horse and all he does is chase cows.

Copemeister,

Some ropers I know have paid quite a bit of money for their trained roping horse. My nephew roped for a college in SD, and then here in Texas. He started on an older horse, then went to a younger one.

Repetition is hard on any animal, I would have an equine vet check that horse out thoroughly before I buy it.

Have you roped any off of this horse? If not, would your friend let you use him for awhile before you make the decision to buy him?

Good luck