brand new

Help Support CattleToday:

okmike

Reaction score
hello first time poster here, i will be posting here quite a bit in the future as i am brand new to cattle ranching and would like to get started soon after i finish my degree. i have a thousand questions that im sure can be answered here but i'll start with this one. what are the basics in buying cattle, what are the terms the banks applies and also how many bulls per cow do i need to ensure they all being serviced. also how much cattle per acre of land is suitable. again i am brand new and i apologize for my ignorance but i have to start somewhere and thanks for all those that reply.

okmike":vafijfq6 said:
hello first time poster here, i will be posting here quite a bit in the future as i am brand new to cattle ranching and would like to get started soon after i finish my degree. i have a thousand questions that im sure can be answered here but i'll start with this one. what are the basics in buying cattle, what are the terms the banks applies and also how many bulls per cow do i need to ensure they all being serviced. also how much cattle per acre of land is suitable. again i am brand new and i apologize for my ignorance but i have to start somewhere and thanks for all those that reply.

Well 1st I would say pay cash for your cattle if its only a few, I believe Hillbilly made this point in another thread. You can safely assume a 24 month old bull can service 24 cows 36 month 35 to 40. As cow per acre no way to know as we don't know where located.

the area that im in is mostly hay/pasture type, there are small to little amounts of trees on the land. say i started with about 5 cows to begin with do you suggest keeping the offspring to increase herd size, what exaclty was hillbilly saying about this subject if you can remember, thanks

okmike":q0o9hn23 said: