Best Organic Grasses

Help Support CattleToday:

jrench

Reaction score
Hey,
I was wondering what would be the best organic grass seed to plant? Im in Illinois about 30 miles east of st. louis on I 70. Any help would be much appreciated :)

Didn't know there were any grasses that were not organic.
I guess you mean organically produced certified seed. What are you trying to accomplish, grazing, hay, seed? Heavy land, sandy, bottom? Cattle, horses, etc. And the big question why do you want to plant expensive organic seed when it is exactly the same as any other seed, are you planning organic production?

Eventually I would like to be certified organic for cattle. It will be for grazing. Although I wasn't sure if all grass seed was organic or if some was chemically modified. That's why I posted on here, Im new to cattle, as well as organic. I've been doing a lot of study for the past couple years and I'm about to make the leap. I have a good field now thats as organic as you can get, Im wanting to overseed it and try for a better yield of good quality grass for the cattle.

He has not answered what he is looking to do. To me an organic grass would be a native grass that would not require fertilizer like the improved grasses do??

cowboy43":18zndsc4 said:
He has not answered what he is looking to do. To me an organic grass would be a native grass that would not require fertilizer like the improved grasses do??