Best Feet/Worst Feet Angus Bulls

Help Support CattleToday:

Air gator

Reaction score
If you read a lot of posts on this site then you will come across a lot of complaints about bad feet.
I am not an expert on feet but just curious which bulls or pedigrees do you trust for feet and which bulls/pedigrees do you avoid?

Air gator":1kqz9dd8 said:
If you read a lot of posts on this site then you will come across a lot of complaints about bad feet.
I am not an expert on feet but just curious which bulls or pedigrees do you trust for feet and which bulls/pedigrees do you avoid?

Gator, do you know Rocking P? Chan and Keith Phillips. In this area, they are right up there with the Boyd Cattle Company. Chan is a National level show judge. He has judged several times at the National Stock Show in Denver. He has told me that foot form and function are a primary focus of their breeding. They have Angus and Simmental but are better know for Simmental and Simangus.

That has rubbed off on me. I like big feet, enough heel, good claws. I know it when I see it but not good yet at describing it.

Werner War Party is known for good feet.

TennesseeTuxedo":2rdvbv20 said:
Serious question. Would it be a safe assumption that a bull who is six years with sound feet and still an active herd bull is more than likely passing that trait to his offspring?

I will take a shot at that Dad. First, what data do you have on his off-spring? Any retained bulls or heifers to gather information from - create a track record? If not, then all you have is the bull. If his feet are still sound, have good form and function, then that is all you have for data. Beyond that, you have no basis for speculating on whether his good feet traits are inheritable.

TennesseeTuxedo":3co6oghb said:
We've retained some heifers over the short 4 years he's been with us an I'm growing out 6 bull calves born in 2015. I haven't noticed any issues.