Best Breed for New Cattle Owner?

Help Support CattleToday:

DRSCfarm

Reaction score
Howdy!!

I am just starting out with cattle. I am going to be getting a heifer calf for showing in 4-H and major shows. I am undecided on which breed to get. Could anyone help me with which breed they feel is the easiest for a beginner owner?

The breeds I am interested in are:
1) Hereford (Polled)
2) Chianina
3) Shorthorn
4) Simmental
5) Simbrah
6) Charolais

Could anyone explain all the crossbreeding? I see that there are 3/4 one breed and 1/4 another or, for example, Angus/Charolais calves for sale, but could these even be registered? Shown? I am just a bit confused on this.

Thanks for any and all your input!

To be registered they have to be from registered stock. When I was researching what breed I wanted for a bull I used Google and googled the breeds. You get a lot of the websites for the respective breed organisations. You also get some information from agriculture colleges that have done different studies on the breed. Many of the breed websites have some good explanations of the breed, epd's etc. It is a good place to start. You can also get some good pictures of the different breeds there to help you decide what you like. take into consideration your goals both long and short term for the animal you purchase. This site is packed with great folks who really know cattle. Some are rough in there delivery but remember to take all there advice and choose for yourself which direction you go. Ultimately your the one who must answer the mail and pay the cost for your decisions. Good luck and I hope you enjoy your efforts.

Could anyone explain all the crossbreeding? I see that there are 3/4 one breed and 1/4 another or, for example, Angus/Charolais calves for sale, but could these even be registered? Shown? I am just a bit confused on this.