Belgian Blue - Facts or Fiction

Help Support CattleToday:

Jeanne - Simme Valley

Reaction score
No - I am not thinking about crossbreeding. Just wanted to get "updated' info on the breed. Had someone ask me some questions & I realized the only info I have is from maybe 20-25 (or more) years ago.
I used to be on the Cornell bull test committee and played an active role in it. We only had a few BB's, but none ever passed, mainly due to structure evaluation. Huge muscled body with real fine bones and small feet.
So, Fact or Fiction on the modern BB's:
1. The double muscle gene is recessive.
2. Non-double muscled cows can calf successfully bred to a BB.
3. 50% BB's can calve successfully bred to a purebred BB.
4. 75% - Purebred BB's must have cesarean birth.
5. Are they still fine boned?
thanks

I'm not an expert, but have some experience with them. Will try to answer to some of the questions.
1. Not sure about this. Have a few girls which have 25%BB in them, other breeds in them- not double muscled. Cows aren't that muscled. However, they throw more muscled calf no matter what bull you use, not 100% of times, calves from the same bull sometimes have more muscles, while next year the new calf will be nothing extreme.
2. I guess this was a fact even earlier. For example, dairy cows can calve BB calves pretty easily. I've some friends, who use BB bulls even on more muscled cows, like Limousine, Simmental, and usually don't have calving problems.
3-4. Yes, but not everywhere. Countries like Belgium, France, Netherlands haven't improved BB's calving ability. But if look at such countries as Denmark, Ireland and some other, there are herds 99% calving naturally.
5. Improved in this point too. Now they usually have better legs, bigger bones, larger pelvis.