Arthritis in Angus Bull?

Help Support CattleToday:

Kay

Reaction score
Just had the Vet out to check out a 2 year old Angus Bull.He has been out with the Cows now 1 month,I noticed a few coming back into heat,so I went out and watched him breeding.He would mount the Cow but nothing extended out.So called the Vet out and he said everything is fine,but was walking stiff and he said that he was swollen in the legs.He said that Angus are know for arthritis,and it will only get worse.He advised to get rid of him.Does anybody have any experience with this? Do you think maybe he just has been breeding heavy and just wore out.He has 23 cows to breed.Thanks

IMO, 23 cows should be "just warming up" for a healthy and functioning bull full of youthful energy...

I have no experience with Angus bulls and arthritis.

Do you have another vet available for a follow on opinion? In your post you prominently mention that 'nothing' extended out, by which I believe you mean the penis never extended so penetration and breeding of the female did not occur. Yet the vet says everything is fine - he has arthritis (the bull - but then again maybe the vet) and the vet says Angus are known for getting arthritis ---- so you should sell the bull.

Did the vet perform a breeding soundness examination which led the vet to say 'everything was fine'? Except for the arthritis? But did you enjoy the play Mrs. Lincoln?

As far as I'm aware Angus cattle are not known for arthritis and the same can be said about every other breed. Something just doesn't sound quite right here so I suggest getting another opinion from a different vet if possible.