Young open Jersey udder filling.

Help Support CattleToday:

Redgully

Reaction score
Long story short my niece bought a jersey calf and has raised her to now 19 months old. The heifers udder starting filling and watery milk could be milked out. She only did one squirt from two teats as they were dripping. Vet checked her and she is open. She now wants to get her in calf and had her inseminated by vet but missed. Somehow she has now landed in my care to see if i can breed her. I am not experienced with dairy cattle and wondering if this is normal. I'm thinking it could be a hormone imbalance and concerned it could prevent her calving. Vet didnt seem to think an issue. Feel free to share any tips on breeding Jerseys.

That whole thing is very interesting.

The man I bought Eleanor from said she needed put with a bull as he couldn't get her to take to a.i.

Lo and behold she calved right on time to his last a.i attempt. And I still had calves nursing her. I really messed up on that deal. She's coming back along tho.

I've got my bull in with her now. I don't a.i.

That whole thing is very interesting.

The man I bought Eleanor from said she needed put with a bull as he couldn't get her to take to a.i.

Lo and behold she calved right on time to his last a.i attempt. And I still had calves nursing her. I really messed up on that deal. She's coming back along tho.

I've got my bull in with her now. I don't a.i.
Bulls are good for the dodgy ones. I had a young naughty bull who got two of my cull cows in calf when he was nine months old. But i sold him a couple of months ago and no young bulls coming along. I am 95% a.i. She should come in heat next week or two so will give it a go.