Working in the desert...

Help Support CattleToday:

milkmaid

Reaction score
lancasterranch007.jpg

Out rounding up cows yesterday on the desert, lot of cactus out there and I probably spent a half hour working over my pup afterwards and picking cactus out of his paws. What do the rest of you do in that type of country? will he eventually learn to be more careful, or do you use booties like the sled dog folks do, or just leave the dogs at home, or...?

Thanks-

If the dog is worth it's salt it will never learn to be carefull, it will go where it needs to and do what needs doing. I carried a small pair of pliers in my pocket at all times.

Posted your question on a cowdog forum- heres the reply

"After a few trips the pups will get used to it and figure how to stay out of it for the most part." WC

I have no experience with dogs but remember pulling cactus spines out of myself from military training out there.

Beautiful, even gorgeous picture of that country. Bringing them in from summer pasture?

Thanks for the picture. Hope your dog is ok.

Jim

They will learn, and get more careful. But as dun said, if they need to go somewhere, if the dog is a good one he's gonna go there. We've pulled hawthorn thorns out of most of our dogs at different times. They do learn, but I'd never count on them not picking some up. I wouldn't even think of leaving ours at home.... we'd never get cattle in! The dogs love their jobs too much anyways; if I could ask them what their choice would be I already know the answer.

Another one

i'm with WC they will learn
but the BC's catch more cactus than dogs with slick tight feet and they tend to get sore faster also
i am not against using boots on a dog if i have to but i don't like them as the dog loses alot of traction and it sure gives the cow an advantage
later
jerry

SRBeef":2n6pyaec said:
Beautiful, even gorgeous picture of that country. Bringing them in from summer pasture?

Thanks for the picture. Hope your dog is ok.

Jim