Willamette Valley Oregon head per acre?

Help Support CattleToday:

roar9roar

Reaction score
I am looking into raising beef on my new property. I have 2.5 crossed-fenced pasture acres with barn (it was a horse property). It is established pasture mowed late this summer but has not had horses on it in at least 5 years. It is level, unirrigated, and has great sun exposure. I have never raised cows alone before but I have limited experience working on a dairy. I am sure i will have many questions but will search before I post.

For those familiar with the amount of rain we get here in the willamette valley, how many head can I comfortably raise? I don't want to overtax the pasture. I am looking for a sustainable number that I can feed through the summer here without irrigating the pasture.

Anyone local have a sustainable number?

Thanks for your help. Additionally if you have a link to any beginners guide or how starting from scratch would appreciate it!

Your question should perhaps be posed as acres per head, rather than head per acres. The answer depends on your soil and forage, and will vary from year to year depending on the weather. The Willamette Valley has some good soils and growing conditions, but do not expect to feed even one cow or steer on 2.5 acres year around without supplemental feed.