Head gate setup

Help Support CattleToday:

ccattleco

Reaction score
I'm just starting out so a squeeze chute isn't exactly in my budget right now. I've been looking around at just head gates. For the people that just use head gates, what is your setup like? What type/brand head gate do you have? Thanks a bunch for any input!

Lots of us use or have used a head gate only. They work very well, most of the time. Buy a good one and keep it rust free. Should last until money can be saved. Problem with head gate only, most have a set width alley. A stuck cow is a problem.

I had a old hunk of junk that a cow couldn't even fit through so I had to have a gate on side to let cow out. Could only work 1 in ally at a time but I made it work. had a guy offer me $100 for it I let him take it I'm
Trying to find me another head gate now i am
Almost done with my new working pens and chute I just can't afford one of them new squeeze chutes myself

I have an old Tox O Wik that has been in for probably thirty years and seen a lot of cattle.It's starting to loosen up now but it's paid for and if it fails tomorrow,it has done it's job.I built it into a homemade alley with an 8' foot gate on the right side to allow me to get to a cow's side and feet.Handy when helping a calf who needs to learn to nurse.
A dedicated squeeze is nice but there are thousands of head run through the older type.Neighbors have three similar.Wish they had put side gates in but they didn't ask me nor ask me to pay for it.

Priefert HG91 headgate mounted to GOOD wooden posts or (better) steel posts, or (easier but more expensive) to a Priefert headgate stand will work, but even with the headgate stand, you will need to plant at least some good teeposts along each side of the stand. I used one just like that without a squeeze for several years and it worked fine.
Headgate stand alone will run you over $400 but you can make one cheaper than that.
https://www.nrsworld.com/priefert/priefert-headgate-stand-141454