Where my fault finder is leading me...

Help Support CattleToday:

ccattleco

Reaction score
I'm still a beginner at electric fences.. but learning everyday! I know this is not a bad short but I'm trying to do this the right way.. what's the problem here? Should I have crimped it twice? Front what I read and had seen in pictures it looked like this type of crimps only needed to be crimped once B01A0B87-361F-4D3C-917C-BB7551C526F9.jpeg

The fault could be to the right or up.
Wherever that goes
All the other wires are checking out fine, and if I go right the amps go back down so I think the problem is where it's crimped.. just don't know why or if I did something wrong

What does the finder say if u go upwards?

I spose it could be a bad crimp but idk how it would short to anything. High resistance maybe. Easy to run a jumper from one side of the crimp to the other and see if it goes away

i don't pay it anymind if it still shows good amount of juice, when it reads 9 or 10 then you know you have a real short. i have seen this much reading just going down the line & you find nothing then when you go farther it reads the other way

Put a tight crimp on the short wire going thru the clamp around the long wire and read it again. I'm guessing the clamp may not be as
secure as it looks.

It appears that the top wire is not insulated. What is above it? Lee VanRoss may be correct, but if the two uninsulated wires are touching even with the crimp, it should not be showing a fault.

What does the finder say if u go upwards?

I spose it could be a bad crimp but idk how it would short to anything. High resistance maybe. Easy to run a jumper from one side of the crimp to the other and see if it goes away
I can't remember exactly what it was reading when I went upwards but it didn't catch my attention. I'll have to check again tomorrow.