When to sell older cow

Help Support CattleToday:

zendog

Reaction score
I have several questions. I will ask them all in this forum. Sorry if this is out of order. I also apologize for my ignorance, I am a small hobby farmer.

I now have 11 lowline angus cattle. 4 steers will butcher next September. 1 heifer will be a replacement. 6 pregnant cows to calve in April.

Question 1. Should I have the cows preg checked. I did this last year and all were pregnant. I used the same bull this year. I do not have cattle handling equipment so this is a pretty big deal requiring a visit from a vet with a squeeze chute and jury rigging portable cattle panels.

Question 2. Do I need to give my cows this anti abort shot? If the vet is coming it is a no brainer. But catching the cows is a major effort for me. Do I just bite the bullet and catch them? What is the risk if I do not give them the shot?

Question 3. Two of the pregnant cows are 1/2 lowline Angus 10 years old. When is the best time to sell them -- now when they are pregnant (and healthy), after they calve with the 3/4 lowline calf at their side, or next year after the calf is weened? My goal is to make the most money after feeding and other expenses. And where do I sell them? Are cows this old of any value as breed stock or do they go to the auction house? Being 1/2 lowline, they are worth a little more than standard Angus as breed stock but as hamburger, they are just beef.

Question 4. The calves (4 steers, 1 heifer) were born in April. When do I ween them?

Thanks. I am sure these are easy questions for an experienced cattleman but it is a mystery the first time around.

zendog":38lf2z9x said:
I have several questions. I will ask them all in this forum. Sorry if this is out of order. I also apologize for my ignorance, I am a small hobby farmer.
Don't apologize for your ignorance ~ no one else on here does. Often small hobby farmers do a tremendous amount of research.

Question 1. Should I have the cows preg checked.