When to give lutalyse (sp?)

Help Support CattleToday:

coolpop

Reaction score
I have a 15 mth 1100 lb hereford heifer -- registered, standing heat Oct 18th - jumped a fence to a limosine angus mixed bull that belongs to someone else. Vet is out of town for the next week.

:?: My question is do I wait to see if she cycles again around Nov 9th or do I go on and lute her???

What kind of time frame can you give the lute??

I have no experience with this drug.

Please offer advice, experience, Thanks, C

You have to wait a minimum of 7 days. wait 10 to be on the safe side. There has to be a corpus luteum (if not bred) or a corpus luteum of pregnancy (if bred) for a prostaglandin to have an effect. The Lute will let the CL degenerate to allow the next heat within 3-5 days after the injection.

I guess I was reading into it more than I should. If her next heat is Nov. 9 the 7-10 day window has passed. That is why I said give it now.

my vet told me they need to be between 3 weeks and
3 months. when they give her the shot she will come back into heat within a week. so be ready.

coolpop":poxjgm1h said:
I have a 15 mth 1100 lb hereford heifer -- registered, standing heat Oct 18th - jumped a fence to a limosine angus mixed bull that belongs to someone else. Vet is out of town for the next week.

:?: My question is do I wait to see if she cycles again around Nov 9th or do I go on and lute her???

What kind of time frame can you give the lute??

I have no experience with this drug.

Please offer advice, experience, Thanks, C

I don't think I'd lute her (assuming the weight at 15 months is correct). I have no experience with Limo's, but if she actually weighs 1100 lbs at 15 months of age - by the time she is ready to deliver she should be big enough to handle an angus/limo cross calf. I'm not a big believer in aborting calves, except in very select circumstances, but that is just me.

msscamp,