What is she missing?

Help Support CattleToday:

Nesikep

I am a low cost producer and I watch the input expenses. One thing that I do not short the herd on is minerals. As stated above. Use loose minerals not the blocks to enable the animals to access as much mineral as they want. If you keep the mineral available 24/7 they will not consume all that much. You need to start the regimen ASAP rather than wait as it will take time to meet the needs.
Here is what I am using now to dispense the minerals. The tires appear small but the one on top is the replacement tire for a dual setup on a semi. The bottom tire is a conventional semi tire. It will hold 100 lbs easily and 150 lbs if you use your hands to distribute the minerals. I have never had the animals to turn this over.
IMG00660-20110302-1446.jpg

Look at the VitaFerm loose mineral, they have an excellent product. I use the Cattlemans Blend throughout the year, except spring time we switch to a high mag, I think it's ConceptAid, but I would have to look it up. They have all the mineral you are looking for in one bag.

I'm feeding 9:18 now to the entire herd, they're probably all low on phosphorus as they're pretty much always on Alfalfa. After they've been on that for a while I might switch to a 1:1. The entire herd doesn't seem to be too keen on the 9:18, but I'm giving the cow in question about 2 oz a day by hand for a while...

rockridgecattle - That cow was a top producer, pretty much always had the biggest calf whether it was a heifer or steer

With all my mineral deficiency research I have done recently I created a document which I posted in another thread, may be of interest to some people