What implement to use when and where???

Help Support CattleToday:

noriko

Reaction score
I guess my topic alone means I am a beginner. I have 500 acres of dry land in Idaho. I never set out to be a real farmer because for one thing I am told you need at least 1500 acres to turn a profit so I got my land for santuary, peace and quiet. My land is loomy sandy soil with a layer of stuff they call hard pan about 4-5 feet deep. I would love to penetrate that but with a 7 shank ripper I barely touched it and when I do the ripper smokes in the ground and breaks shear bolts.

My question to ask you all is what implement to use to work my ground. It sure helped when I ripped it but for now I am mostly concerned with turning the soil and preparing a seed bed to plant types of grasses. I tried planting alfalfa and in dry land it is very tricky. I have a 14' offset disc that works great. I also got a 28' chisel plow i haven't used yet along with a 36' field cultivator and a 20' ground hog to prepare the seed bed. Although the disc works fine it is 14' and if I can get good or better results with a 28' chisel plow I would save time with one pass equals two of the disc. I was thinking to do it a second time crossways and then a pass with the field cultivator to make the hog work easy using only one pass and then the grain drill. Regarding my equipment i just kept buying bigger implements as I bought a second tractor. My first tractor is a case 4690 4WD 225 Horse and my second is a 4890 4WD with a cummins 350 hp engine swap.

Can I get any opinions on what implement to use and how many passes?

I'd really appreciate it! :cboy:

noriko":3ixesyw7 said: