What exactly is a "club calf"?

Help Support CattleToday:

poultryrancher

Reaction score
I hear this term everywhere on cattle breeders websites.... I have no clue what it means! Pardon me, please--I'm still a newbie...Just finished my first year in steer 4-H and can't wait to learn more and do it again!

a club calf is a combo of breeds used to produce steers for shows such as 4H FFA an state fairs.hence the term club calf.breeds are chi maines maine angus an maybe some other breed combos that i dont know about.

A haltered calf of usually black or red that is raised and shown by kids participating in 4-H, FFA, and other programs.

Now...on my "caustic, sarcastic, devil's advocate side"... ;-)

MY definition of a "Club Calf":
  • 1. Any overfed calf to fill out so it will impress the judges.
    2. An overly pampered calf.
    3. An overly groomed, bathed, etc. calf.
    4. A hairy, post-legged calf.
    5. A calf that the "shower" hopes will impress some buyer to benefit the kid's effort and program.
    6. A winning calf in a show that is sold for much more than it's worth (for meat or breeding).
    7. A calf that is mostly useless for any other purpose than for giving the kids an experience (or) to show.
    8. A calf that has an excess of body fat and excess marbeling due to what it's been "enhancement" fed.
    9. A calf project that keeps the kids "off the street" and "out of trouble"...lol.

Bill...you left out the part about the hired help usually does all the work, Dad or grandpa usually buy the calf at the auction and make sure it brings a premium.

Running Arrow Bill":1w3ajuqg said:
A haltered calf of usually black or red that is raised and shown by kids participating in 4-H, FFA, and other programs.

Now...on my "caustic, sarcastic, devil's advocate side"... ;-)

MY definition of a "Club Calf":
  • 1. Any overfed calf to fill out so it will impress the judges.
    2. An overly pampered calf.
    3. An overly groomed, bathed, etc. calf.