what do quality cattle look like?

Help Support CattleToday:

ez14

Reaction score
Im starting this thread so beginners have some thing to judge there cattle on. I was thinking people could put up pictures of both good and poor quality cattle and explain why they think there good/bad. The pictures could be pictures off the internet or of your own cattle or any where you can find pictures. Im going to put up some pictures to get us started and i hope you all will join in because im not very experienced i`ll put up some pictures And leave the critiquing to the more experienced :D
pic 1
pic2
pic3
pic4
pic5
pic6

ez14 I think they all look pretty good. I like their top line to be as flat as possible, but I've only had cattle for the last year. I am interested to hear what others like.

The last cows looks like a decent cow with her working clothes on, BUT, that udder needs help

The pictures or just random pictures from the internet none of them are mine pic3 is from craigslist

That is a loaded question what is great here isn't great there.
Regional differences are huge.
I know quality is quality .
The better question in my mind is what will work as well in your region.
In my neck of the woods this is about as good as they get, raise a heII of a calf and maintain
BCS on grass.

Quality cattle look like they are sound enough to fit their purpose and environment. They tend to look similar to the other cattle in their herd since the owner is trying to maintain a certain "quality" and has taken steps to move in that direction that includes using genetics that match his/her ideal and culling outliers. They calve in a time frame that best fits their environment and management. They look cared for. They most often have only one brand. They are often grouped by age but the quality of the younger stock in this scenario is equal to or exceeds the older stock.

Caustic Burno":35vs1vwi said:
That is a loaded question what is great here isn't great there.