Weaning

Help Support CattleToday:

Horticattleman

Reaction score
I'm very new to this so please be patient. I bought a pair. The cow is 5 mos. bred, but has a 1-2 month old calf with her. The guy I bought them from says the mother of the calf and the calf got split. The calf took to this bred cow and he let em stay together. Is this ok even though she's pregnant. If so when should I wean the calf from the cow?
Thanks so much

Horticattleman":1x8n4h6e said:
I'm very new to this so please be patient. I bought a pair. The cow is 5 mos. bred, but has a 1-2 month old calf with her. The guy I bought them from says the mother of the calf and the calf got split. The calf took to this bred cow and he let em stay together. Is this ok even though she's pregnant. If so when should I wean the calf from the cow?
Thanks so much

Are you sure about how far along the cow is? If so, this is not a good scenario because the calf is putting demands on this cow that should be going to her developing calf. We generally give our cows 4 months or so from weaning to calving so they don't get drug down. On the other hand, if this calf is 1-2 months old, the calf is a little young to be weaned. Do you have any other weaning or bottle calves? If so, I would set up a creep feed type thing, get this calf on solid food and pull him/her the moment he/she is eating pretty good. If you can incorporate the other calves into that creep feed scenario they will teach this one to eat faster. Just my thoughts.

If the cow is in good condition I would leave the calf on her for at least 30 to 45 days and try to encourage it to eat dry feed. Grass should be good this time of the year and should not pull the cow down too much. Just my thought.

rkm":45eai1mf said:
If the cow is in good condition I would leave the calf on her for at least 30 to 45 days and try to encourage it to eat dry feed. Grass should be good this time of the year and should not pull the cow down too much. Just my thought.