Viral scours

Help Support CattleToday:

jensen ranch

Reaction score
Hello I'm new to the page and have a 125 head commercial cattle herd of limo angus cross. For the last 3 years we have been battling viral scours (acidosis). The only treatment we have found that works is tubing baking sofa water and a powerful antibiotic. This year it seems to have changed it is now a very runny yellow colour and then turning to a white pasty. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Hello I'm new to the page and have a 125 head commercial cattle herd of limo angus cross. For the last 3 years we have been battling viral scours (acidosis). The only treatment we have found that works is tubing baking sofa water and a powerful antibiotic. This year it seems to have changed it is now a very runny yellow colour and then turning to a white pasty. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
I should say the calves are ranging from 25-45 days old

How do you know that you're dealing with viral scours? Have you sent samples to a diagnostic lab? Once you know specifically what you're dealing with, you can work with your vet to find specific treatments/vaccines that can help. As always with scours, hygiene is the biggest factor.

How do you know that you're dealing with viral scours? Have you sent samples to a diagnostic lab? Once you know specifically what you're dealing with, you can work with your vet to find specific treatments/vaccines that can help. As always with scours, hygiene is the biggest factor.
Last year we had sample sent in. Our vet suggested newflor with baking soda water. We have them in 160 acre pasture and try and feed in a different area every day

Do your calves get anything like First Defense when they're born, or do you vaccinate your cows prior to calving with Scour Bos? Assuming you have a vaccination protocol already established in conjunction with your vet. Third year in a row - something's not working.