Vaccination Over Dose

Help Support CattleToday:

While I'm not a pharmacologist, I am a veterinarian... I would not depend on Banamine (flunixin) doing anything helpful in the face of a life-threatening anaphylactic reaction, particularly if you gave it intramuscularly. Talk to your vet about scripting out epinephrine.
@Jeanne - Simme Valley you probably need to get a new bottle!

After losing the one calf of our own that we are fairly certain died of anaphylaxis, we started keeping in-date epinephrine on hand, especially when we were giving clostridial bacterin/toxoids. Also... after that one loss, we started holding vaccinated calves for 30-60 minutes before turning them out.
Have never had to use epinephrine since, but it's cheap, and well worth having on hand

The only time I ever saw multiple cattle with anaphylaxis was when a colleague was treating a dairy herd with botulism antitoxin... they'd already lost numerous cows to botulism, and were treating all that had had access to the suspect alfalfa baleage they were feeding.
It didn't seem to matter what he did... if they developed anaphylaxis, they were gonna die. After the first couple, he started 'pre-treating' with atropine and antihistamines; I'm not sure that helped decrease the number of affected animals. Affected cattle would have their hair stand on end, they'd start breathing hard, would begin to sweat, and pretty soon, would just drop. Epinephrine didn't appear to stop the progression.
It was a saddening thing to experience.

I've seen multiple pigs die of anaphylaxis due to vaccination with a Bordetella bacterin/toxoid for atrophic rhinitis.