Trying to get a handle on confirmation

Help Support CattleToday:

crewboss

Reaction score
Can you help me analyze this shorthorn bull?
url]

wolly_revised.jpg
[/img]

wolly_revised.jpg

P6170125.JPG

Looks to be an overall good bull......has decent length..........

I think he looks pretty good. Nice level top line, long enough, good muscle in the hindquarters. I think his feet are pretty good but he does seem to be toed out in the front and rear. May just be the way he is posed. Can't say much about his scrotum.

OK I'll bite. I am no shorthorn expert, but I'll evaluate the bull for you from a standard beef conformation standpoint. The bull is quite obvious fed and fitted so I'll judge him with that in mind.

Starting from the head, he has a good head and well extended neck with adequate masculinity, I personally prefer a stronger, shorter thicker neck with more crest developement. His neck shoulder attachment is good and his shoulders blend in very smoothly.

He has an adequate forearm and the length of his cannon bone indicates that he is a medium to medium early maturing animal. His front hooves toe out slightly, but that is so slightly that I won't consider it a fault. When moving I'll definately pay close attention to see whether there isn't any screw motion when placing his front feet. Front pastern angles is good.

He has a slight break in his topline just behind the withers and overall I would have liked to see more spring of rib and chest depth with more gut capacity. In the profile shot he has a very good rump with muscle extending down to the hocks. His hooks to pins angle is ideal (for real world conditions, not neccesarily the club calf world) His flank is good and reasonably level, his hind legs has got a very good angle (again maybe more angle than the club calf showjocks would prefer). Rear pasterns also very sound. His sheath isn't quite the ideal, but still good, his scrotum looks OK from what I can see.