Tattoo

Help Support CattleToday:

C HOLLAND":20ulhb27 said:
good ???? Dun and is the tatoo required for commercial cattle.

It shouldn;t be required for commercial stuff unless you want it for your own id purposes or you bangs vaccinate.

dun

I tattoo at the same time I do vaccinations, worming, etc...for me that is usually after weaning-around 6 months old. That way I only have to run them through the chute once.

We tag them on day one and tattoo them when we give the first round of vacs 3 weeks before weaning. We try to wean at average 205 days.

Lee

Good question. This is my first year for tatooing. The reason for tatooing this year? When I sold a cow recently I was asked to sign papers whether I could certify that the cow was born in the US and if it was born after 1998. Read an article, later, that stated the word certify in these papers means you have proof of the cow's id (meaning something permanent) and proper documentation as well. Never thought about "permanent" IDing before this year. In the past I just tagged our cattle.

So this year I tatooed my calves at weaning time.

What is involved in the tatooing process? Is it hard to do? Or, do you need to hire someone to do it?

mitchwi":619aa458 said:
What is involved in the tatooing process? Is it hard to do? Or, do you need to hire someone to do it?

Never tattoed a calf/cow but did plenty of smaller animals. It can be messy, but the key is restraingin the head so they can;t move it around and screwup the tattoo. All it takes is the tatto pliers with the appropriate letters/numbers and a tube of tatto ink.

dun

dun":1z34i9kx said:
At what age do most people tattoo their registered cattle?

dun

Some breeders tattoo at birth when weighing. I don't. I tag them at birth and tattoo at weaning. It seems to make a more legible tattoo when they are older.

It can get ugly if several calves lose the tag before weaning and tattooing. But I usually know the calves well enough to know who they belong to.