sweep tub and alley

Help Support CattleToday:

I just got into beef cattle this year and I have a priefert premier open sweep, its the 90°, model number is S04 or S01 I think, used it yesterday and it worked to perfection. It also helped that I got it for $500 less than the price on their website from the fleet farm

SconnieBeef":308spzoj said:
I just got into beef cattle this year and I have a priefert premier open sweep, its the 90°, model number is S04 or S01 I think, used it yesterday and it worked to perfection. It also helped that I got it for $500 less than the price on their website from the fleet farm
SO4/SO1 are numbers for Preifert squeeze chutes.

OS1 is a bare bones Premiere open 90- deg sweep-- OS2 is a bare bones 180 degree sweep. etc etc.

http://www.priefert.com/ProductGroup/ca ... eeps-1537/

I have a Big Valley 135 degree sweep. An old Powder River crowd alley with a palp cage and a Powder River longhorn chute. I got them all at a farm equipment auction. I paid roughly a third the price all the pieces would have been if new from a supplier. I don't know where the sweep came from but it was brand new. Hadn't even been set up before. The set up works pretty good. Last fall the GF, the vet, and I preg checked 63 heifers in 75 minutes.

How sturdy is that Powder River palp cage Dave? I looked at a Preifert cage, and it seemed pretty light and shaky for what it would cost. Pretty cramped too.

Lots of distributors will knock a good bit off on units that have sat on their lot for a couple of years and have rust on them. I needed a 45 deg offset in an alley, and the local distributor let me have one they had had out on their lot for three years--sold it to me at way below their cost--about 1/2 what the catalog and website states. Said I was the 1st person who had ever asked about one and they were glad to get it off their inventory.

greybeard":1whp6f4u said: