Summer pneumonia

Help Support CattleToday:

angus9259

Reaction score
Have had 2 calves - both only a couple weeks old - get pneumonia so far this summer. Saved on lost one. Use Nuflor and Banamine on both. Difference was (I think) caught on early and one late.

Anyhow . . . how common is summer pneumonia? I've never had it at all . . . winter or summer. Cows are kept outdoors 24/7 as I've heard barns can contribute to pneumonia. Preventative thoughts? Why summer not winter? Does this predict a bad winter?

Pretty common down this way Angus. High temps and humidity. Much easier to raise calves in the winter than summer.

I get it here any time of the year when we have a thirty degree temperature swing in twenty-four hours. I work on large dairies for a living and they have the same problems so I know it's not just me. Cool mornings and hot afternoons seam to be worse than cold mornings and warm afternoons.

cow pollinater":1hlqam4h said:
I get it here any time of the year when we have a thirty degree temperature swing in twenty-four hours. I work on large dairies for a living and they have the same problems so I know it's not just me. Cool mornings and hot afternoons seam to be worse than cold mornings and warm afternoons.

Interesting. They both got hit after a cool morning and hot afternoon. Guess I need to keep a better lookout.

9259 - I don't know your operation, so don't take this offensively. "Generally" calves that are born by cows that are in good BCS, get proper colostrum, "should" have enough resistance to survive a weather stress.
Are you being affected by drought & your cows are thinner than norm? Calves born to thin cows have "weak calf syndrome" and can be susseptable to most anything.