starving calf out

Help Support CattleToday:

angus9259

Reaction score
1. healthy cow had 3 wk old calf die this am
2. momma with bad hoof/leg has healthy calf
3. healthy calf is now penned up with healthy momma
4. based on experience with this cow, the calf will likely be the weak link
5. how long should the calf be allowed to go w/o nursing her momma in order to help her toward nursing the healthy cow?

Pen the calf away from Momma. That way you know whether the calf is drinking or not.

12 hours at a time. The calf only needs to drink twice a day. Of course when saying that I am talking about Australia and not in snow. I have no experience with that.

I just typed out how to put a calf on a cow in the thread calf won't drink from a bottle if you are interested.

Suzie Q":1zklvakc said:
Pen the calf away from Momma. That way you know whether the calf is drinking or not.

12 hours at a time. The calf only needs to drink twice a day. Of course when saying that I am talking about Australia and not in snow. I have no experience with that.

I just typed out how to put a calf on a cow in the thread calf won't drink from a bottle if you are interested.

I'll look it up. Thanks a lot. The situation has changed - calf will take the cow, cow won't take the calf. Putting "new momma" in the chute now and calf is nursing. I'll do some searching on that issue. Thanks again.

Keep putting the momma in the chute. Once the milk has had a chance to turn to poo, the calf will start to smell like her, she will get over it.
Now depending on when the calf of the healthy momma died, I have had good experience on skinning the dead calf and using twine and tieing the hide onto the the calf i am trying to graft on to the cow. We did not skin the legs. just needed enough to cover the neck to tail and the back and sides of the calf. Disgusting way to go...but it works. Left the hide on for a few days.

rockridgecattle":3hrr5nx8 said: