Starting to creep . . .

Help Support CattleToday:

angus9259

Reaction score
Calves are 5 mo old. Cows getting worn down. I've never used creep feed before. Bought a couple creep feeders, wondering how this works. I've got wagons of 70% cracked corn 25% rolled oats and 6 lbs / bushel 34% baby beef. Do the calves just go free choice at it right away or does there need to be a buildup time? Hate to just dump this out there and get everyone sick.

I think you can get in big trouble if you just turn them loose. You need to ration them somehow, or mix salt with it to some fashion, I don't remember how much salt though. :?:

If they have never had grain before I definitely would not let them have free choice until they adjust,you will always get a few piggies that gorge themselves and get sick.

There is a creep feed ration that they mix up for you when ordered but since you have it mixed already I would lower your sides on the feeder to as far down as possible that just a bit comes out at once and they have to really work for it.

Then keep an eye on them and as they adjust you can raise it so they get more out at a time.

TNMasterBeefProducer":19dl3bzs said:
Red Bull Breeder":19dl3bzs said:
Fill them up and let them have it.

Brother I heard that. That is my philosophy.
I don,t believe I would fill it up. Only because it may go sour before they learn to eat it.
Unless they are already starving I would not worry about it. You may have more of a problem keeping the cows from tearing up the surround fence and eating up all the feed.