Starting South Polls

Help Support CattleToday:

LauMo

Reaction score
Hi I'm a newbie. I've had a few cow a year now this past May. Had two AI with South Poll…I do have an issue…read one I joined now…My 15 day old heifer has been limping on front leg. Nothing in hoof….seems like shoulder not sure..it's been 4 days no improvement but not worse either. Local farmers said wait…I'm open to any helpful suggestions!
This video is from Friday…no change.
Thank you!
I had to crop it to 3 seconds to get the video to upload…hope you can see something.
View attachment IMG_6070.MOV

Hi I'm a newbie. I've had a few cow a year now this past May. Had two AI with South Poll…I do have an issue…read one I joined now…My 15 day old heifer has been limping on front leg. Nothing in hoof….seems like shoulder not sure..it's been 4 days no improvement but not worse either. Local farmers said wait…I'm open to any helpful suggestions!
This video is from Friday…no change.
Thank you!
I had to crop it to 3 seconds to get the video to upload…hope you can see something.
View attachment 32852
It could be anything and slow to heal. If you've inspected and found nothing obvious you might need to be patient and see what happens.
I found a calf hanging from its back leg in a tree and it was never right but it remained healthy and gained weight with the rest of them.

It could be anything and slow to heal. If you've inspected and found nothing obvious you might need to be patient and see what happens.
I found a calf hanging from its back leg in a tree and it was never right but it remained healthy and gained weight with the rest of them.
Thank you so much! Learning patience is hard😊
What are you breeding South Poll to?
Both of my mamma cows are charolais, red angus and wagyu