Starting from Scratch

Help Support CattleToday:

rancher4life

Reaction score
I am new at this. I do not have land yet but I am looking at approximately 100 acres. Is there any Govt. programs that will help me get started with the purchase of the land and live stock? This is what I was born to do.

rancher4life":3gk2617r said:
I am new at this. I do not have land yet but I am looking at approximately 100 acres. Is there any Govt. programs that will help me get started with the purchase of the land and live stock? This is what I was born to do.

Talk about waving the red flag. I suspect you will have a few comments on this one, but if you do a search you will find this topic has been pretty well done to death.

If you were "born" to do it, you will find a way. There is no such thing as a free lunch.

Bez

Best way I have found, is to earn some money with work and save up until you get enough to get started.
Let the gov. help those that cant help themselves.

As a taxpayer, I'm certainly not interested in fronting anyone's Ranching operation. The Government never helped me get started. I'm not interested in a "Free Ride'.I know my tax $ are wasted on a routine basis, but it's flat out wrong.

Welcome to the boards, rancher4life. Great to have you posting up. There's government assistance here and there,,but none - that i know of - that'll help you with the $$'s to purchase land and livestock. If u find such a program,,pls be sure to post it here so we'll all know about it,,ok? ;-)

Depending on your state of residence,,,there's technical assistance from the dept of ag (here in my state thru the NRCS),,,and state programs (again here in my state thru the county extension agent). There's expertise there that's available to you,,,and also plenty of reading and educational material - and yes, some have programs in which you cost-share with the government for such things as land restoration,,planting of native grasses,,wildlife habitat,,and such.