Spurs?

Help Support CattleToday:

Hillary_Indiana

Reaction score
We have a TW gelding who is so sweet...has the best ground manners. It seems, though, that he has regressed a little in his feistiness (sp?) upon the first 5 minutes of riding him. The first 5 minutes you ride him he is just dangerous...today he had all 4 feet of the ground with my boyfriend on him...scared him to death. He mostly sidesteps...but sometimes whips around or rares up a little bit. I don't know what to do about this...after the first 5 minutes he is usually perfectly fine. I told my boyfriend anytime he rares up or tries to pull that crap slap him immediately. But, like I said he pretty much does it continuously for the first 5 minutes...and I don't want him to think that he's going to be treated that way everytime we ride him. I thought maybe this would be the use for spurs? We have never used them before. Or do you think it would help to lunge (sp?) him beforehand? I am not experienced and have never lunged a horse before and am not sure that he even knows how to do this. Any suggestions???

skip the spurs and trot him out a little befor you ride - maybe lay off the grain. If you don't know what you are doing with sprus you can create quite a wreck - others might enjoy watching but you could get hurt.

Aslo check equipment for fit, dirt other problems - especially if this is a new issue.

Hillary_Indiana":30epzykp said:
I thought maybe this would be the use for spurs? We have never used them before.