Spring vs fall calving and why???

Help Support CattleToday:

uscott

Reaction score
Just have a question for the cattle veterans. I am in central Miss and i am fairly new to the business. I have set up for spring calving(Feb to March) so that the cows get the best grass (rye and clover to summer grasses) while they are nursing. My question is why some of you are fall calving and why some are spring. I am just wondering about the pros and cons of each?

Biggest reason above all else is to split up income. Used to be on the those guys that put all his eggs into one sale and crossed his fingers. Now I can take good groups of calves at two different times of the year and hedge my risk of a poor sale. If it's real poor, I can buy back and not be in desperate need of cash as I sold 6 months earlier. I know a lot of spring-only calving guys that get desperate for cash flow in late winter/early spring.

What Aaron said. Also, our fall calving cows are dry through the summer with only mineral to supplement them. Most calve at a 6 or 7 BCS, and breed back in a 60 day window. Calf prices are almost always good when we wean in March. We have been holding our spring group, especially heifers, to a pretty tough standard, and move the opens that are worth trying again to the fall. Anything from the fall group that comes up open gets sold in a pretty good spring cow market. We were ridiculously wet during our spring breeding season last year and had very few heifers breed back. We held onto them and AI'd them and put them with a bull for 30 days in September. We'll calve them out a little early and hold them over to breed back in November with the rest. Having 2 seasons gives you so many more options when things don't happen the way they're supposed to!

Guys are more likely to be lenient on the cows if they have a herd of each. If they don't get bred on time for one group they get shuffled to the other. Not doing themselves any favours.