Small horns on cattle.....need removing?

Help Support CattleToday:

tenacres

Reaction score
I'm not experienced with cattle so please forgive this question.

We have a heifer with small horns about 2-3" long. She's almost a year old now and the horns havent really gotten any bigger since we got her several months back. I have a few questions:

Should we have these removed? Is it necessary or recommended? Will they get bigger?

Thanks.

Horns get bigger as the animals mature.

Would recommend removing them, unless you're raising Horned Herefords or Longhorns where the horns add to the asthetic appearance of the animal.

Otherwise, they're usually hard on each other. Even if a cow has only a small scurred horn, it'll usually be quite polished up from use on her herdmates.

Take care.

tenacres":1z3dc4ao said:
I'm not experienced with cattle so please forgive this question.

We have a heifer with small horns about 2-3" long.

Breed?

She's almost a year old now and the horns havent really gotten any bigger since we got her several months back. I have a few questions:

Should we have these removed?

Are they bothering her or you or your family?

Is it necessary or recommended?

Depends - you planning to ship her to market or leave her in the field to raise a couple of calves.

Necessary - nope.

Reccommended - maybe / maybe not - depends on whether or not they are bothering her or you or your family.

They are matural and certainly do not NEED to come off.

Will they get bigger?

Maybe - maybe not. Some grow fairly large and some do not - genetics will tell.

Thanks.

No prob,

Bez!

Depends on her temperment. We have a few cows with small horns. They don''t used them in fights and they aren't tough cows. We won't be selling them anytime soon so for us there is no point in dehorning them. We've had cows in the past that are bullies with their horns and they lose them. As Bez pointed out, it really does depend on your situation.