Should I buy ?

Help Support CattleToday:

Richnm

Reaction score
Found a bred cow and a heifer for sale. Wanted opinions. I am still learning. Cow aaa# 18738825 she is confirmed bred to bull aaa# 18738825, also heifer # 19453382. Price is $2,500 on bred cow, $5,000 on heifer. Thanks.

First off, your registration #'s for cow and bull are the same

Second, from the look of things, he's putting a premium on $B which would be the last place I look at, not the first. If that's your thing, have at it.

I'd start with a picture first, then pedigree and EPD's.

Why are these two for sale? Did he put them up for sale or did you pick them out of a group/herd?

You'd be a lot better off finding some embryos and recips than putting all those chips into a $5k heifer

Aside from the fact that a significant number of heifers don't make it as a cow, it just seems to me paying $5000 for a heifer is like getting in at the bottom of an immense pyramid scheme.

Richnm said:
Cow is 18599090
A 2nd calf Ten X daughter turning 4 yrs old in January from an Upward daughter going on 9.
Seller purchased her from the breeder and appears he might be disappointed with her to be
selling her after just 2 calves.

$5,000 for a 10 month old heifer with a good, but nothing special pedigree seems unjustly proud.
Unless both she and her 6 yr old dam knocked my socks off, I'd pass.

I'd sell you 4 good bred heifers for that same total price. Apparently someone missed the memo as to where we are in the price cycle.

Just because something is registered it doesn't necessarily make them any better then there commercial counter parts. If it were me I'd be looking at buying registered cattle for as close to commercial prices as you can find. It doesn't hurt as much when you miss.