Sexed seman

Help Support CattleToday:

Chappydog

Reaction score
I'm new to AI and wanting to know the pros cons dos, donts, ect on sexed seman. I've got 4 heifers I'm going to have AIed in October. Is the increased cost worth it? Are there any differences in the cow taking on the first try?

So basically I'm looking for everything some of y'all know about this.

We will get to what bull to use at a later time :mrgreen:

I think the extra cost is justifiable, if you are wanting a particular sex for a reason. I think the research says you'll have a lower conception rate. I haven't ai'd in a long time. I've been thinking about going back to it some, and will probably go with sexed semen when I do.

Yep to what Bigfoot said. More expensive, lower conceptions rates, but worth the payoff if you get what you want. We have been AIng cattle for about 6 years now ourselves, and have a tough time getting conceptions on heifer sexed semen, but not conventional. But, our Genex rep came out and did EXACTLY what we do to prepare and inseminate, and got the heifer stuck to the HS semen... so not sure what we were doing wrong.
Do it! Worth it, for sure

I personally am not going to pay two and a half times the price for 10% lower conception....
I don't know if I am smart enough to know if a bull calf or a heifer calf would be better for me anyway. most of my bulls are going to be steers and heifers taste just as good as steers....

pdfangus":9b52cuhi said:
I personally am not going to pay two and a half times the price for 10% lower conception....
I don't know if I am smart enough to know if a bull calf or a heifer calf would be better for me anyway. most of my bulls are going to be steers and heifers taste just as good as steers....