Seedstock prices in general

Help Support CattleToday:

artesianspringsfarm

Reaction score
Didn't want to hijack the thread on bull prices, but I'm wondering what people are seeing the prices do at normal fall sales? I could'nt keep my hand down this weekend as we went to a sale with extremely high quality females go for very little over what commercial replacement cost would be. I don't understand it and it was one of those mixed blessings. I'm relatively new to beef and have made no attempt to hide that, but I love registered cattle and suspect that somewhere down the road I would enjoy being a seedstock producer. Working as hard as a seedstock producer does and then not getting the premium that should bring has gotta be tough. Of course, the flipsde for me is, I got a whole lot of bang for my buck, at least I think. So, is this normal? When the market corrects a little, like it was sure to do, does everyone hide their checkbooks?

If you bought good females, I think even if prices fall for a year or two more, it's still a good investment... If they give you good calves for 10 or more years the little extra you pay now is nothing.

Around here we had a bad drought, and its really affected feed prices ($350/ton for ANY hay), so I think a lot of cows are getting shipped, and perhaps some bulls too. Unless the market crashes in a big way, I think a lot of people will be understocked in the spring and prices will be pretty good

I wish I would have kept my hand down more when I was first buying and figuring things out. That said, when I was first buying I was able to buy top registered genetic pairs for $1500 - at the height of the cattle price depression.